Skip to content

The Makings of a Classic Bath

February 14, 2012

Two posts in one day! I am really on it today (unlike the entire year!)

The Adams Street bathroom project is almost finished!  (So expect more pictures soon!) I started this bathroom design with these thoughts: how do I create a bathroom from a reading room, give it modern ammenities and keep the character of a 100 yr old home. Well, there are a lot of elements at play here.

Here is the before picture… Just a standard room that needs some work.

 So, the first thing I did was come up with the design. This is my basic floor plan.

I decided to keep the fireplace that was in the room and refinish the old mantel.  I may add a Victorian insert to dress it up (finances pending) I decided to make a nice roomy shower with a bench facing the fireplace with an overhead rain shower and handheld spray on the wall.  I chose a double vanity for much needed storage. I also had to move the door over to the center to make the design work. Now you can visually can see the vanity and fireplace upon entering.

Next I selected materials.   I chose honed Arabescato marble for it’s timeless appeal.  I’m a big fan of honed everything-it’s just soft and elegant. I also went with white subway tiles on the shower walls, because they are period appropriate, cheap, and mimic the brick pattern on the fireplace.  The shower pan is arabescato mosaics.

Lighting, mirrors, and plumbing fixtures were also a factor in the overall feel of the bathroom. I chose Pottery Barn’s Kensington pivot mirror in chrome. And for the lighting I went with some simples sconces I found at lumens.com.

The Master bathroom isn’t done, but here is a sneak preview of what is completed…  Double vanity wall, and shower tile (picture is of shower pan), paint.   I can’t wait to post the fireplace, windows, and shower when it’s complete.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

